Day 5 of the trip

20160316_104704One more workday to go and then we are done with our work on the house. So far I had so much fun with challenging myself and meeting new people. I was very excited to be involved in helping to build a house because I have never done it before. It was a little scary to use a power tool but after trying a couple of times I felt more confident in doing it and it was actually fun! Even though I am having a great time here in Laredo, yesterday was the first time I felt homesick since I have been in America as an international student. The whole day I thought about home and wasn’t even paying attention. I was so focused on the one month that is left when I will see my family again. When I told my friend how I felt at the end of the day she told me that often times she is so focussed on the future or the past that she doesn’t even pay attention on the present and what is happening now. It really helped me today with my homesickness because I told myself that I should focus on the trip in order to get the most out of it. Because of this, I was much more productive today than I was yesterday only because I changed my mindset.

Overall I am very happy to be on this trip. A lot of laughter, a lot of new experiences, making new friends and working on my Spanish!

~Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

